In honor of their new album Rewind, which hits stores May 13, Rascal Flatts is our Impact artist this week.

Rewind is the ninth studio album from Rascal Flatts, the Ohio group that features Gary LeVox, Jay DeMarcus and Joe Don Rooney. They’ve earned multiple platinum-selling albums and more than two dozen radio hits, about half of which made it to No. 1.

The group’s last single is “Rewind,” written by Chris DeStefano, Ashley Gorley and Eric Paslay.

“I was the first one to hear it in a song pitch meeting in Nashville,” DeMarcus told about the song. “When I heard it, it just jumped out of the speakers. The chorus was so catchy and hooky. Especially the middle of it, ‘So you can let it fall one more time.’ I took it and played it for the guys and they felt the same way. We went in and cut it and I think it turned out better than we expected. It’s a great song and we’re proud of it.”

The album leads off with a song called “Payback” that DeMarcus described as “a fun little revenge tune.”

“I think the girls are going to love that one,” he said. “We didn’t write the song, we found the song, or it found us. It’s revenge-driven in a funny way. What he’s saying is basically, ‘Let’s dance together at this club tonight. We’ll take some pictures and put them out on the Internet and he’ll see it and it’ll piss him off and he’ll wonder.’”

Further highlights include the immediately catchy and captivating “Night of Our Lives” and the powerful ballad “Aftermath.”

Even though the Flatts bandmates have been recording and touring together now for some 15 years (they hit the road this summer headlining their Rewind Tour with Sheryl Crow and Gloriana), the process is still challenging — perhaps even moreso now than ever.

“To try to grow from the success you’ve had is really hard to do in any business,” Rooney told “I feel like we’re going in the right direction.”

Rascal Flatts Rewind track listing:

01. Payback (Aaron Eshuis, Neil Mason, Ryan Hurd)
02. Rewind (Chris DeStefano, Ashley Gorley, Eric Paslay)*
03. I Have Never Been To Memphis (Eric Holljies, Ian Holljies, Marcus Hummon)
04. DJ Tonight (Meghan Trainor, Jesse Frasure, Shay Mooney)*
05. Powerful Stuff (Gregg Wattenberg, Derek A. E. Fuhrmann, Brett James)
06. Riot (Jaron Boyer, Sara Haze)*
07. Night Of Our Lives (Ben Hayslip, Jimmy Yeary)
08. I Like The Sound Of That (Meghan Trainor, Jesse Frasure, Shay Mooney)*
09. Aftermath (Ben Caver, Megan Conner, Brian White)
10. I’m On Fire (Sean McConnell, Tobias Lundgren, Johan Fransson, Tim Larsson)*
11. Life’s A Song (Jeffrey Steele, Brandon Hood, James Slater)**
12. Honeysuckle Lazy (Neil Thrasher, Michael Dulaney, Shane Minor)*
13. The Mechanic (Jaren Johnston, Tony Lane)*

Deluxe Tracks
01. Compass (Diane Warren)*
02. Wildfire (James Ryan Ho, Christopher Breaux)**
03. She Must Like Broken Hearts (busbee, Jay DeMarcus, Gary LeVox, Joe Don Rooney)*
04. Bring The Family (Regie Hamm, Tim Akers, Chase Akers)

Rascal Flatts rewind cd cover

  1. Reblogged this on Back Porch Junkie.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From 99.5 WYCD Detroit's Best Country

Guide: Little Caesars Arena Concert ScheduleMany of the top names in music have already booked dates at the new arena. Here are the music events booked at the arena so far.
Here’s What You Should Know About Little Caesars ArenaIf you are heading to Little Caesars Arena, you will want to bookmark this page.

Listen Live