By Jason the 200 lb. Cowboy

CMT is set to celebrate the Artists of the Year tonight with a 90-minute special airing at 9pm ET from Nashville’s Schermerhorn Symphony Center. This year’s honorees include Luke Bryan, Florida Georgia Line, Thomas Rhett, Chris Stapleton and Carrie Underwood, with Kelsea Ballerini being recognized as Breakout Artist of the Year.

The special night will also honor Shania Twain with the Artist of a Lifetime Award, making her the first female artist ever to receive the prestigious award, with past honorees including Kenny Rogers andMerle Haggard.

Performers set for tonight’s event include: Meghan Trainor and Jill Scott, who will join Kelsea to pay tribute to Shania, while Swedish singer Zara Larsson will honor Thomas and Little Big Town’s Karen Fairchild will join Luke for their duet “Home Alone Tonight.”


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From 99.5 WYCD Detroit's Best Country

Guide: Little Caesars Arena Concert ScheduleMany of the top names in music have already booked dates at the new arena. Here are the music events booked at the arena so far.
Here’s What You Should Know About Little Caesars ArenaIf you are heading to Little Caesars Arena, you will want to bookmark this page.

Listen Live